Perfectionist’s hell or SQL formatting

Hi folks

As a programmer-perfectionist I have a habit which is killing me.

Every time I need to add some script to SQL file, I am formatting it manually.

I would like to get a tool which would format SQL for me but everything I’ve tried has some flaws.

I tried online formatters, stand-alone tools and SQL Server Management Studio plugins. I am wasting so much time to configure them but still results are not perfect.

I was already thinking to write my own formatter which formats ideally, but decided to write this blogpost to get ideas from community.

I’ve many people just take the script as it is from SQL Server Management Studio with all that autogenerated crap.

Does anyone had similar problem? What do you do with your SQL scripts?

Stay tuned

About mnaoumov

Senior .NET Developer in Readify
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perfectionist’s hell or SQL formatting

  1. Pingback: My new favorite SQL toy – ApexSQL Refactor | mnaoumov.NET

Leave a Reply

